The nature was very generous to Trstenik's region giving it good position, fertile soil and hardworking hosts. Lying at the crossroads since the ancient times, Trstenik is a town with a rich history and tradition. Even the Neolithic farmer knew to recognize the benefits of this region and settled the localities Blagotin and Stragari. The Romans brought us vine and left it for ever. Two monasteries, Veluće and Ljubostinja, which are the endowments of two Serbian princesses, dates back to the medieval times.
The first written mention of Trstenik is in the Charter of Prince Lazar issued to the Ravanica Monastery, in which he gave Veluće, Trstenik and Ribnik to his endowment. The town Trstenik was founded between 1832 to 1838 by order of Prince Miloš Obrenović, leaving to the previous settlement, which is two kilometers west, the name Stara Čaršija.
Trstenik municipality is the homeland of excellent metalworkers of “Prva Petoletka”, hardworking truck farmers and skillful vintners. Earlier, Trstenik was a town of craftsmen and traders, but today it is modern, urban town cherishing its ancestors' spirit who left the rich, cultural heritage.